Relativistic canonical quantization:
Questions and answers

D. A. Arbatsky

May, 2005
(revised in May, 2006)

Abstract

Here I answer some of the most interesting questions about RCQ.
What is “Relativistic Canonical Quantization”?

Relativistic canonical quantization (RCQ) is a modern method of construction (“quantization”) of relativistic quantum fields from classical fields described by the language of invariant Hamiltonian (“canonical”) formalism.

This method has the following features:

A more concrete answer to this question is given in the review What is “Relativistic Canonical Quantization”?.

The detailed description is given in the papers On quantization of electromagnetic field.

Is not RCQ a re-account of second quantization in Fock space in other terms?

For the aims of modern quantum field theory the method of second quantization in Fock space must be considered unsatisfactory.

At the outset of the quantum field theory it seemed (and Fock proceeded from this) that wave function is a mathematical object organically inherent in one quantum particle. Dirac even suggested the equation for electron proceeding from these ideas.

But later it became obvious that this is incorrect.

A quantum field can not be defined on the base of the theory of one quantum particle. As far as there is not any formal method (in the frame of Wigner-Mackey theory) for introduction of wave function, then (according to Fock) it is impossible to formally introduce local operators of quantized field. So, although some concrete quantum fields have been already quite correctly constructed, it should be understood that these particular constructions did not imply any general abstract mathematical scheme.

The method of RCQ have solved this problem completely. It turned out that, from abstract-algebraic point of view, quantum fields are objects derivative of classical fields (described by the language of the invariant Hamiltonian formalism), and not of quantum particles.

Does this mean that the Fock construction is incorrect?

No. It is correct to the extent in which it follows from the RCQ construction.

RCQ constructs quantum fields from classical, i. e. it derives properties of quantum objects from properties of classical objects. Can such a situation be considered satisfactory from methodological point of view?

Whether we like it or not, but with the appearance of the method of RCQ we are forced to recognize it as necessary that the whole quantum field theory turned out to be not so “quantum” as we would like it to think. The mankind just had not enough fantasy yet to deviate far enough from old ideas.

It seems appropriate to recall Dirac's words about quantum field theory:

„Нам нужна какая-то новая математика, столь же поразительная и непохожая на то, к чему мы привыкли, как некоммутативная алгебра Гейзенберга во времена, когда физики всё ещё работали с боровскими орбитами.“

[Taken from the Russian edition of: P. Dirac “The origin of quantum field theory”, in The impact of modern scientific ideas on society, Dordrecht, Holland: D. Reidel (1981). Sorry, I do not want to make my own reverse translation.]

Why is Gupta-Bleuler formalism unsatisfactory? What new has the method of RCQ given to quantization of electromagnetic field?

Gupta-Bleuler “formalism” can be called by this word only for the reason of its formality. It gives some formal relations for “operators” of quantum electromagnetic field, but it does not give any concrete answer to the question, in what functional space and how the symbols under consideration act. In other words, it does not define representation.

Of course, before the method of RCQ not everything was so bad. Using the analogy with the scalar field physicists have defined how “operators” act in the “space of wave functions”. But, in fact, the “space of wave functions” remained undefined as a functional space.

With appearance of the method of RCQ it became obvious that working only with Hilbert space is just a prejudice, which physicists clung to only from force of habit. It turned out that in some cases it is possible (though, not necessary) to manage with Hilbert space. But in the case of electromagnetic field everything is completely different.

It should be noticed also that the method of RCQ allows to look completely differently at the questions of gauge invariance and at the problem of arbitrariness in the choice of Lagrangian.

Why in the papers On quantization of electromagnetic field is so little attention devoted to distinction of usual and generalized functions? It is well known that operator amplitudes of a quantized field in a fixed point of space-time are not well-defined operators.

Once Bohr and Rosenfeld have used very delicate physical arguments to prove this fact. But from the point of view of the method of RCQ this is obvious and does not influence mathematical strictness of the construction.

It seems appropriate to notice also that the paper of Bohr and Rosenfeld have not become antiquated in any way with appearance of RCQ. Because the method of RCQ uses the concrete abstract scheme; and the indefiniteness of local operators (without results of Bohr and Rosenfeld) would arise bewilderment.

Is the method of RCQ applicable to non-linear fields and to interacting fields?

In the “Introductory remarks” in the papers On quantization of electromagnetic field I said: “we cannot quantize non-linear fields”.

As regards application of the method of RCQ to formal rows of perturbation theory, it is not only possible, but necessary.

How is the method of RCQ connected with the method of functional (path) integral?

RCQ is a tree. The method of functional integral is a branch of that tree (less rigorous yet). The fact that historically the branch was found first, and the tree was found later, should not puzzle too much: in dense mist everything is possible.

The counter shows the number of unique visitors of the site. Most of them have downloaded The certainty principle (review).


Телебит Системы Сети Сайты Программы Цены Контакты

Релятивистское каноническое квантование:
Вопросы и ответы

Д. А. Арбатский

Май 2005 г.
(дополнено в мае 2006 г.)

Аннотация

Здесь я отвечаю на некоторые наиболее интересные вопросы об РКК.
Что такое „релятивистское каноническое квантование“?

Релятивистское каноническое квантование (РКК) — это современный метод конструирования („квантования“) релятивистских квантовых полей из полей классических, описанных на языке инвариантного гамильтонова („канонического“) формализма.

Этот метод обладает следующими особенностями:

Более конкретный ответ на данный вопрос дан в обзоре Что такое „релятивистское каноническое квантование“?.

Подробное изложение дано в статьях О квантовании электромагнитного поля.

Не является ли РКК переизложением вторичного квантования в пространстве Фока в других терминах?

Для целей современной квантовой теории поля метод вторичного квантования в пространстве Фока следует считать неудовлетворительным.

На заре квантовой теории поля казалось (и Фок исходил из этого), что волновая функция является математическим объектом, органически присущим одной квантовой частице. Дирак даже уравнение для электрона предложил, исходя из этих соображений.

Позднее, однако, стало ясно, что это неверно.

Квантованное поле нельзя определить, опираясь на теорию одной квантовой частицы. Ведь если нет формального метода (в рамках теории Вигнера-Макки) для введения волновой функции, то (по Фоку) невозможно и формально ввести локальные операторы квантованного поля. В связи с этим, хотя некоторые конкретные квантовые поля уже вполне корректно сконструированы, следует понимать, что за этими частными построениями раньше не стояло никакой общей абстрактной математической схемы.

Метод РКК полностью решил эту проблему. Оказалось, что, с абстрактно-алгебраической точки зрения, квантовые поля являются объектами, производными по отношению к классическим полям (описанным на языке инвариантного гамильтонова формализма), а не по отношению к квантовым частицам.

Значит ли это, что конструкция Фока неправильна?

Нет. Она правильна в той мере, в какой она вытекает из конструкции РКК.

РКК конструирует квантовые поля из классических, т. е. выводит свойства объектов квантовых из свойств объектов классических. Можно ли такую ситуацию считать удовлетворительной с методологической точки зрения?

Нравится нам это или нет, но с появлением метода РКК мы вынуждены признать, что вся квантовая теория поля оказалась не настолько „квантовой“, насколько нам хотелось бы думать. Человечеству пока что просто не хватило фантазии отойти достаточно далеко от старых идей.

Наверно, тут уместно вспомнить слова Дирака о квантовой теории поля:

„Нам нужна какая-то новая математика, столь же поразительная и непохожая на то, к чему мы привыкли, как некоммутативная алгебра Гейзенберга во времена, когда физики всё ещё работали с боровскими орбитами.“

Чем неудовлетворителен формализм Гупты-Блейлера? Что нового дал метод РКК для квантования электромагнитного поля?

„Формализм“ Гупты-Блейлера может именоваться этим словом лишь по причине своей формальности. Он даёт определённые формальные соотношения для „операторов“ квантованного электромагнитного поля, но при этом не даёт конкретного ответа на вопрос, в каком функциональном пространстве и как именно соответствующие символы действуют. Иными словами, он не определяет представления.

Конечно, и до метода РКК всё было не безнадёжно плохо. Опираясь на аналогию со скалярным полем, физики давно определили, как действуют „операторы“ в „пространстве волновых функций“. При этом „пространство волновых функций“ фактически оставалось неопределённым, как функциональное пространство.

С появлением метода РКК стало очевидно, что гильбертовость пространства состояний — всего лишь предрассудок, за который физики упорно цеплялись по привычке. Как оказалось, в некоторых случаях можно (хотя и не обязательно) обходиться гильбертовым пространством. А вот в случае электромагнитного поля всё обстоит совершенно иначе.

Следует также отметить, что метод РКК позволил совершенно по-новому осмыслить вопросы калибровочной инвариантности и проблему неоднозначности выбора лагранжиана.

Почему в статьях О квантовании электромагнитного поля так мало внимания уделяется различению обычных и обобщённых функций? Ведь известно, что операторные амплитуды квантованного поля в заданной точке пространства-времени не являются хорошо определёнными операторами.

Когда-то Бору и Розенфельду пришлось прибегнуть к очень тонким физическим рассуждениям, чтобы доказать этот факт. С точки же зрения метода РКК это очевидно и никак не отражается на математической строгости построений.

Представляется важным отметить также, что статья Бора и Розенфельда отнюдь не устарела с появлением метода РКК. Ведь метод РКК исходит из конкретной абстрактной схемы; и неопределённость локальных операторов (без результатов Бора и Розенфельда) вызывала бы недоумение.

Приложим ли метод РКК к нелинейным полям и к взаимодействующим полям?

Во „Вводных замечаниях“ к статьям О квантовании электромагнитного поля сказано: „нелинейные поля мы квантовать не умеем“.

Что же касается применения метода РКК к формальным рядам теории возмущений, то делать это не только можно, но и нужно.

Как связан метод РКК с методом функционального интеграла?

РКК — это дерево. Метод функционального интеграла — одна из его веток (меннее строгая, пока). Тот факт, что исторически сначала была обнаружена ветка, а потом дерево, не должен сильно удивлять: в густом тумане всякое возможно.

Счётчик показывает число уникальных посетителей сайта. Большинство из них скачали Принцип определённости (обзор).


Телебит Системы Сети Сайты Программы Цены Контакты